Places I stayed and things I saw on my trip

Denver

 

View from my room over to the golden domed city hall. Arrived at 6pm and went straight to see Bruce Springsteen in concert – best way to keep awake and on local time.  He was awesome.  Boy was it cold in Denver waiting for a taxi home- brrrrr.

 

Breckenridge –

A great place to spend the weekend and recover from the jet-lag!  Plus the skiing was excellent. I had most runs to myself.  Jet lag meant I was up and on the first lifts of the morning. I did however find the altitude made me feel dizzy and light headed.

IMG_8009

Houston

Uphouse Manor B&B https://uphousemanor.com

I could not have asked for a nicer place to stay- My host Katrina was delightful.  She has a warm and welcoming home in historic Houston Heights.  Her home is beautifully styled with a wonderful collection of paintings.

The neighbourhood is abundant with beautifully restored historic homes and fabulous little shops  (Debbie Dillar and I had a successful morning shopping)  restaurants and coffee shops on 19th street.  My favourite shops were Casa Ramirez,  Big Blue Whale Jubilee and Man Ready Mercantile.  Debbie and I had lunch at Torchy’s Tacos – which were DAMN GOOD!

I stayed in the aptly names Learning Lamp Room.

uphouse-lamp-room2

I would highly recommend staying here if you come to Houston – I will certainly rebook if I return.

Seattle

How lovely it was to stay on the water – waking to the harbour noises was soothing.  The Edgewater Hotel was a delight.

Resting atop Pier 67 on Seattle’s sparking Elliott Bay, the four story 223-room Edgewater is Seattle’s original waterfront hotel. Originally built for the 1962 World’s Fair, The Edgewater Hotel remains as Seattle’s only waterfront hotel and has become a beloved local landmark.

In 1964, during their first world tour, The Beatles stayed at our Seattle hotel, newly completed for the World’s Fair. At the time, no other hotel in the city would accept The Beatles as guests; however The Edgewater happily welcomed them.

During their stay, the band famously fished from the window their suite, the photo of which has become legendary.

All rooms feature gas fireplaces- a cozy feature I made the most of.

Seattle was fun to explore after my school visits – I’d not been here before.  I visited the Nordic Heritage Museum being of Norwegian ancestry.  It was unfortunately closed – however I was allowed to have a look through and ended up being an ‘extra’ in the filming for Norwegian television show ‘Alt for Norge’. I spent the late afternoon exploring the Pike Place Markets and having coffee at the original Starbucks cafe.  I had dinner up the space needle in the revolving restaurant Sky View, arriving before sunset to see the city views in daylight and at night.  The next day I explored Queen Anne Hill, Fremont and visited the amazing Chihuly Glass museum.

San Francisco

Probably my most ‘ordinary’ hotel the whole trip – however the location and price was good for my 5 night stay for the NCTM conference.  I have been to SF before so sightseeing was not on the top of my list after long days at the conference.  It was nice however to visit friends who use to live in Sydney for dinner on the Friday night and spend Sunday in Napa Valley.

IMG_0230

Boston

Another city I have been before – so it was great to do new things.  Arriving on Monday 18th was good and bad. Being a public holiday and the Boston Marathon meant the taxi could not get anywhere close to my hotel without heavy traffic and many road closures.  I did manage to catch the end of the marathon as the finish line was around the corner from my hotel.  Tuesday was the anniversary of the start of the American Revolution with the battles at Concord and Lexington.  Darci and I had a great day visiting the revolution sights, Walden Ponds and the Alcott’s family home. A game of baseball at Fenway park with Darci was a must again after 20 odd years.  I also thoroughly  enjoyed seeing Boz Scaggs in concert. My last night in the United States was dinner with good friends.

Los Angeles stop over

I had a 10 hours layover in LA -so I caught a taxi to the Getty Museum and then on to the Santa Monica Pier to meet my good friend Juliana.  We had a bite to eat and a catch up before headed home for a quick shower and back to the airport for the last leg home.

Home Sweet Home

IMG_0998

Leave a Reply

